TBR

August TBR

Hello all,

It’s a little bit late, I know but despite having already read two books this month (The Iron Man by Ted Hughes and Animal Farm by George Orwell), here’s my TBR for the rest of the month. 😎

Vicious

1. Vicious by V.E Schawb: I have started this one and the first third of the book was rather difficult to put down. The middle hasn’t been as great as the beginning; that said, it’s still very good – it’s just that the beginning was SPECTACULAR. I am absolutely loving Schwab’s writing style. I am extremely interested to see where this story goes. I can just imagine this really picking up again as I carry on.

The gift of the magi

2. The Gift of the Magi and Other Short Stories by O. Henry: This one has been on-hold. O. Henry is famous for his twists and they have been delightful so far in the stories. I’ve wanted to pick it up again for a while but in the whole moving-your-life-across-the-country-and-trying-to fit-it-into-your-mother’s-box-room/old-bedroom saga, I had lost it in the mountains of boxes and suitcases.  SSJ Time Lord of no fixed abode (TM) has finally found her copy again, and  the plan is to finish this very soon.

Illuminae

3. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Can’t wait to start this one! I’ve been putting this off for the longest time because I wanted to devote time to it and ensure I could finish it. That time is now! 😀

Reasons to stay alive

4. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig: Another on hold book, though I’ll probably start this one from the beginning again as it’s been quite a long time since I started it. Heard very good things about this one.

237d2fe0-a223-4ff5-b850-42d9f9c501ae-256

5. The Illustrated Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams: Yet another on-hold, so I’ll have to find it first! But it’s just wonderful. I am a huge fan of HHGTTG but, as mentioned in previous posts, I’ve never read it. The radio show is a thing of utter genius and that is the format I am used to. However, I read the first chapter and it was of course laugh out loud hilarious.

 

percy jackson and the lightning thief

6. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan: Very excited to start these books. They’ve been on my list for such a long time. As a lover of Classics, I think I’m going to enjoy these.

ADAM

7. ADAM by A.K. Stone: Picked this one as my Library Scavenger Hunt book. It sounds intriguing!

 

Most are quite short books, some are on-hold books that I’ve already started or attempted in the past, but all physical copies except for ADAMPercy Jackson which I hope I will start on the plane to Japan and Vicious (which I am currently reading). I am going to limit myself to taking only 5 (this number is subject to change) physical books with me to Japan… T_T and then rely on my Kindle. To be honest, I have a ton of Kindle books so I won’t be stuck for choice.

Have you read any of these books? What is your August TBR? And, as ever, please leave your questions, comments and statements below!

Geeky love,

SSJ Time Lord

Leave a Reply

