ReadAThons and Challenges

My belated BookTubeAThon results

Hello all!

And my belated BookTubeAThon is over! I managed to complete 4 of the challenges and read 3 books.

You’ll find my reviews of the books I read in August in my August Wrap-Up. For now, you’ll find my ratings for completed books in this post.

1. Read a book with a person on the cover: COMPLETED

Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher – Find my review here.

Wishful drinking3 star f

2. Read a hyped book: STARTED BUT UNCOMPLETED

Planned on reading Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, but I couldn’t (and still can’t) find my copy so… I started Vicious by V.E. Schawb. Currently halfway through.

 

 

3. Finish a book in one day: COMPLETED

The Iron Man by Ted Hughes

The Iron Man4 star f

4. Read about a character that is very different from you: COMPLETED

Animal Farm by George Orwell – I think all of the characters in this are extremely different to me in that the humans are horrible and the rest are farm animals…

Animal Farm5 star f

5. Finish a book completely outdoors: ATTEMPTED BUT ABANDONED

I tried reading Grammar: The Structure of Language by Rachel Grenon, but I just found it far too boring. You might be thinking, ‘Well, of course a book about grammar would be boring, but 1), I just completed a CELTA course so I’ve got grammar on the brain, 2), I’m about to start a job teaching English and 3) I like this stuff despite being awful at it. This book was just well… boring. It uses different terms to the ones I’m used to and… AND… it used the American declension case order which I just couldn’t handle. This was unfortunately a DNF for me.

Grammar

6. Read a book you bought because of the cover: COMPLETED

Animal Farm by George Orwell – See above for the cover. I just love it. Despite already owning at least two copies… I just had to buy another.

7. Bonus: Read seven books.

Nah, managed 3 and a half though. 😀

 

All in all, I think that the postponed BookTubeAThon was a success! I’ve increased my total of books read this year by 50%! *hahamanyreadingtocatchupon*

Did you do the BookTubeAThon? What did you read? Which challenges did you complete?

Let me know your thoughts, questions and statements below!

Geeky love,

SSJ Time Lord

Leave a Reply

