TBR

Where have I been? And where am I going? And a belated BookTubeAThon!

Hello all!

I’ve missed you!

Well, that’s my fault. I disappeared for a while! Sorry about that. πŸ˜₯ Here’s a quick fire recap of what I’ve been up to:

  • Work was super busy and I travelled quite a lot but I loved it…
  • Then I resigned…
  • But only because I got a job in teaching in Japan! 😎
  • So I took an 4 week intensive teaching course (CELTA) that ended on Friday! (I literally don’t know my grade yet, but I do know that I passed!)
  • And I’m typing this as I leave Stratford-upon-Avon after an epic wedding reception of two very good friends of mine.
  • Ahead of me is 3 weeks of travel around the UK!
  • Then I head off to Japan in less than 4 weeks! *excited* πŸ˜€

Thus! I am hoping that I will now be in a position to read a lot more and update this blog at least weekly!

So far, I have only managed a measly 6 books this year, but now I’m free and technically unemployed with a lot of travel time which equals reading time!

Unfortunately, the BookTubeAThon clashed with the last week of the CELTA, but I’m going to do a postponed version from Monday 31st July – Sunday 6th August. My TBR is as follows:

1. Read a book with a person on the cover.

Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher (163 pages)

My space mother is awesome and I bought this a while back but haven’t got around to reading it yet. I’m rather looking forward to it.

2. Read a hyped book

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (388 pages)

I’ve heard very mixed reviews about this book, but I own a paper copy (3 for 2 deals are a killer!) and thus I’d like to read this before I head off to Japan as I can’t take my books with me! I’d like to see if I think the book is worthy of all the hype.

3. Finish a book in one day

Grammar – The Structure of Language by Rachel Grenon (64 pages)

Having just finished the CELTA course, I realise that as a native English speaker, my grammar is not up to scratch. Thus this book I bought quite a while back will be perfect to brush up on my terminology.

4. Read about a character that is very different from you

Animal Farm by George Orwell (89 pages)

I think all of the character are quite different to me, not only in that they are farm animals, but also in their being models on Russian revolutionaries.

5. Finish a book completely outdoors.

Grammar – The Structure of Language by Rachel Grenon (64 pages)

I’ve picked this book to fulfil this challenge as well as it’s nice and short and I don’t really think that I’ll have that much of an opportunity to read outdoors if it rains…

6. Read a book you bought because of the cover.

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer (209 pages)

This cover just got me. As did the covers of the sequels. Thus, I had to pick this one. I mean, look at it.

Bonus: Read seven books.

I doubt I will read seven books, but my other two books to be read are:

Binti by Nnedi Okorafor (96 pages)

I don’t own this yet! So, I’ll just have to treat myself. I am really looking forward to this one. SO MUCH.

And…

How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell (240 pages)

IΒ haven’t seen the film yet, but I know I’m going to love it. I just had to wait until I read the first one…

And there we have it! The books I’ve picked are quite short and I’m hoping that this is a good opportunity for me to get back into reading!

That’s all for now!

As ever, please leave your comments, questions, statements below!

Geeky love,

SSJ Time Lord

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Where have I been? And where am I going? And a belated BookTubeAThon!

  1. HEY gorgeous! Nice to meet you at the wedding πŸ˜€ I love this idea! I need to get a blog really 😊 I’m just on instagram/Bookstagram at the moment (@aimeespages – come say hi!), but I want to write more. Love your little challenge, I’m sure you’ll love How to Train Your Dragon, it’s a great book!
    Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

