Monthly Wrap-Ups

January Wrap-up

Hello all. I have come back to reading with a bang. 😎 During the month of January, I managed to finish 4 books – 2 novels, 1 children’s book and 1 novella. Unfortunately, I didn’t finish my January Library Scavenger Hunt book. 😦 But I am hoping to finish it in the next few days!

Without further ado, here is what I read.

1. The Skull Throne by Peter V. Brett:

Tedious…51xzkbyzsl-_sx320_bo1204203200_3 star rating grey

I finally finished this book, having started it back in March 2016. Getting back into a book when you have had such a long break from it is difficult and may have contributed to my 3 star rating. But I have noticed a trend with Brett – he weaves an OK enough story for about 80% of the book, and then he goes wild and throws a million curveballs in the last 20% or so (which I don’t think is enough space in books that are already 700+ pages long). I have really enjoyed following the story in this series. While The Demon Cycle isn’t the best thing I’ve ever read and is of course not without its high fantasy problems (recommendations on authors who can write women characters well, please!) it has been a fun ride so far in a series that contains some magnificent world-building. The fifth and final book, The Core, isn’t set to be published until 2018, so the novellas will have to do in the meantime!

2. Penguin Problems by Jory John and Lane Smith: 

Cynical!penguin-problems5 star f

This was a Christmas present from NightJar and my goodness, it was perfect. This book was utterly charming. As a world class pessimist, Penguin Problems was made for me. Smith’s illustrations were simplistically magnificent and the writing was superb. This illustrated children’s book ensure hilarity for all ages. I thoroughly recommend it. XD

3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Alluring.The Great Gatsby cover5 star rating 2

What can I say? This novella surprised me in more ways than one and all in a good way. The Great Gatsby is a charming story, reflecting 1920s East Coast American life from the perspective of characters I liked, disliked, loved and loathed. The writing was superb; I found it easy to read – not in terms of understandable vocabulary, but more in terms of the fact that I was able to read continuously and not have to go back and re-read lines or paragraphs (which is rare for me). The narrator is cynical, straightforward and instantly likeable. He says what he thinks and has a wonderful way with descriptions. Seeing the story unfold through his eyes was an absolute pleasure. The beauty of Fitzgerald’s prose is striking, yet is juxtaposed with the cruel truth behind his beautiful way with words; that is, the discontentment that lies underneath all of the glitz and glamour.

4. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Meta!fangirlwip4 star f

I don’t even read fanfiction but I loved this book. Rowell just has such a spectacular way with words that allows you to live in the world with her characters and the universe created by her characters! Fangirl appreciates that not everyone find their first year of university/college easy and shows the intricacies involved with moving away from your family and home and being thrown into a completely new dynamic and way of life. Also, maybe I’m getting more soppy in my old age, but I had so many feels when reading this book. SO MANY. I just… ugh – no words. One of the few annoyances I had with the book was how abruptly it ended. Hence four stars instead of five. But definitely a solid and highly enjoyable read! Plus I can’t wait to read Carry On! ❤

And that’s my January Wrap-Up. As ever, please leave any comments or questions below!

Thanks for reading!

SSJ Time Lord

One thought on “January Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

