Reading: General

A quickfire recap of 2016 in books

Hello all.

Well, let’s face it.  My 2016 was dire. I will not dwell on this though.

co_fhn2viaaxnseThe first rule of 2017 is we don’t talk about 2016…except in this blog post…

 

Welcome to…

A QUICKFIRE RECAP OF 2016 IN BOOKS

1. How many books did you read?

I read a total of 18 books, including one re-read. I was aiming for 52 books. I readjusted this in November to 20 books. Essentially, I stopped reading at the end of March 2016 (bar two short books in July) so 16 books in 3 months is pretty good going.

2. How did you fare in terms of reading resolutions?

Authors

  • Cassandra Clare (Nope.)
  • Neil Gaiman (Nope.)
  • Rainbow Rowell (I read  Kindred Spirits and half of Fangirl!)
  • Patrick Rothfuss (Nope.)
  • Kurt Vonnegut (Nope.)

Series

  • The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan (I read the first 50 or so pages of the first PJ book…)
  • The Gentlemen Bastard series by Scott Lynch (I sampled maybe the first 3 pages of The Lies of Locke Lamora and loved the writing…)
  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (I am halfway through Cinder. Hoping to finish it this month if it becomes available in the library once again!)
  • The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness (Nope.)
  • The Demon Cycle by Peter V. Brett (I am 85% of the way through the 4th book in the series. The 5th is currently being written so I think this is good going!)

Individual books

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Nope.)
  • Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor (Nope.)
  • Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig (I read the first 100 or so pages. I’ll be re-reading it this month hopefully.)
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (Nope.)
  • The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman (Nope.)

Other resolutions

  • Read 52 books (18/52)
  • Read 4 classics (Nope.)
  • Complete 5 ‘on-hold’ books (Nope.)
  • Read 3 books by international authors (excluding authors from English-speaking countries) (Nope.)
  • Complete 3 series (Nope.)

3) Favourite book read in 2016?

I think it has to be The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart. I didn’t expect to like this book AT ALL and I ended up loving it and putting it on my favourites list. Give it a chance. It just might surprise you.

4) Least favourite book of 2016?

I gave my lowest rating (2 stars) to the The Walking Dead Vol. 4: The Heart’s Desire by Robert Kirkman. This comic book just didn’t capture me at all. It nearly put me off reading the next volume, but I stuck with it for a little while longer. I will pick up the series once again at some point.

And that’s all. If you are interested, this is my Year in Books on Goodreads.

Much love,

SSJ Time Lord

 

Leave a Reply

