ReadAThons and Challenges · TBR

Holiday BookTubeAThon TBR (also, Hi! I’m back!)

Hey all,

Happy holidays!

I’ve been away for a really long time. I am hoping to sweep 2016 under the carpet and start the New Year with a bang! But first, it would be nice to end the awfulness that has been 2016 with some reading! Thus, it is my aim to take part in the Holiday BookTubeAThon!

This is the first time in a long time where I have properly been able to take a break, and while it has only been 48 hours but it has been glorious spending time with my family, resting and eating all of the wonderful Christmas food.

This year, the Holiday BookTubeAThon is taking place from December 29th-31st. I will be rather busy, but it would be utterly fantastic to be able to complete the challenges. They are as follows:

Reading Challenges:
1. Read a book that has your favourite colour on the cover.

My favourite colour is not actually a colour, but a void. Yes, that’s right, my favourite colour is black (like my soul) and there’s a bit of black on the cover of the book I’ve chosen, therefore my pick for this challenge will be:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (189 pages)

The Great Gatsby cover

This is one of those books that I have been meaning to read for such a long time but just…haven’t. I would also like to see the film because I adore Carey Mulligan.

2. Read a book from a genre you discovered this year.

This one is tricky as I haven’t read that many books this year. I guess at the beginning of the year, I read a lot more comics and I think I re-discovered my passion for this art form. However, all of my comic books are in Scotland and so I will broaden this to “illustrated works”. Thus, my pick for this challenge will be:

The Illustrated Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (96 pages)

237d2fe0-a223-4ff5-b850-42d9f9c501ae-256

3. Read a book that was gifted to you.

I have been given many books that I haven’t read yet. The trouble with this challenge is that most of these books are in Scotland, whereas I am now in London and will be in the South of England when the Holiday BookTubeAThon is taking place. Therefore, after scouring my bookshelves in my mother’s house, I have found this:

Vote for Caesar by Peter Jones (260 pages)

7067286-_uy200_

This was given to me as a gift for successfully finishing my A-levels and getting into my first choice of university. As I graduated from university three and a half years ago, I’d say it’s about time I actually read it…

There is a bonus challenge of reading three books. The books I have picked total 545 pages. I read about 40-50 pages an hour so I will need to devote between 11 and 14 hours to reading over the course of the three days.

I think this is do-able and hopefully enough to get me out of the MAJOR READING SLUMP I’ve been in.

Wish me luck!

Much love,

SSJ Time Lord

Leave a comment