ReadAThons and Challenges

My BookTubeAThon TBR: July 18th – July 24th!

Super long post coming up because I’m super excited about BookTubeAThon starting on Monday (18th July)! BookTubeAThon is a week long readathon hosted by Ariel Bissett starting on July 18th. The aim is to read as much as possible with fun challenges to complete along the way.

Check out this video and also this video for more information!

Last year, I participated in this readathon and it was my first ever! XD I love making TBRs and as ever, I have been working hard to figure out which books I might like to read and how I can complete at least some of the seven challenges:

Challenge 1: Read a book with yellow on the cover 

Last year, the challenge was to read a book with blue (somewhere) on the cover and I read The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett, my first foray into Discworld. Since then I haven’t read any other Discworld books, but I just so happen to have a copy of The Light Fantastic which has a tiny bit of yellow on the cover. It’s kind of hilarious how I read the mostly yellow covered book last year and the mostly blue covered book this year… If I don’t feel like reading that when the time comes, other contenders include The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine and Blubber by Judy Blume.

The light fantastic cover

Challenge One Book Choice = The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett (285 pages)

Back-ups = The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine (340 pages)

or

Blubber by Judy Blume (171 pages)

Challenge 2: Read a book after sunset.

I could pick any book, but I feel as though I should put some thought into the topic or title of the book having something to do with night… Also, the sun doesn’t set until quite late here in Scotland, so I’m going to have to time this one well (perhaps the night before not having to wake up early to go to work the next day…) I would love to read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Equally, starting The Sandman graphic novels series with Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman would be quite fitting. I also think that finally reading The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern would be fantastic, though at 502 pages, it’s a bit on the long side.

The Curious Incident

Challenge Two Book Choice = The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (272 pages)

Back-up = Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman (240 pages)

Challenge 3: Read a book discovered on BookTube

So, I don’t watch all that much BookTube but I might read one of the books I won during the Anti-Bullying Week readathon last year. Blubber by Judy Blume would fulfil this, as would Smart by Kim Slater, two books I hadn’t heard of before I won them! I remember seeing a lot about Truthwitch by Susan Dennard and The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (which is one of the few books I actually want to buy in hardcover) but my local library does not have them.

Blubber

Challenge Three Book Choice = Blubber by Judy Blume (171 pages) 

Back-up = Smart by Kim Slater (229 pages)

Challenge 4: Read a book by a favourite author

This is difficult! I tend to have favourite books, but not favourite authors. I’ve only completed one of Brandon Sanderson’s books, The Final Empire, but I think it’s safe to say that he can be counted as one of my favourite authors (I will one day read EVERY book he has ever written) and I do really need to finish the Mistborn Trilogy…but… his books do tend to be on the long side. Having read Vols. 1-4 of Saga by Brian K. Vaughan, I would say that he is one of my favourite authors also. I’ve also seen the film Ex Machina, so does that count? I own Saga Vol. 5 but have yet to read it, so there’s a thought! It’s probably not fair to call Neil Gaiman one of my favourite authors when the only book of his that I’ve read is Good Omens which was co-written with Terry Pratchett. But I feel as though I would enjoy his writing, so…I’m counting him. I have a couple of his books on Kindle, so perhaps it’s finally time for me to read Stardust instead of watching the film over and over again.

cover-stardust

Challenge Four Book Choice = Stardust by Neil Gaiman (356 pages)

Saga Vol 5

Back-up = Saga Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan (152 pages)

Challenge 5: Read a book that is older than you.

Seeing as Terry Pratchett’s The Light Fantastic is older than me, I probably won’t get around to reading another book to fulfil this category. But if I have time, then it would probably be a classic as I need to read more of those. Animal Farm by George Orwell sounds like a good bet, plus it is available as an e-audiobook that I can borrow from my local library. I’ve never listened to an audiobook before so… I’ll let you know how it goes!

The light fantastic cover

Challenge Five Book Choice = The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett (285 pages)

animal farm audiobook

Back-up = Animal Farm by George Orwell (102 pages/3hrs 25mins)

Challenge 6: Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation

Haha! It turns out that the book I have chosen for Challenge Six was also my pick for Challenge Six last year! Hopefully this year I will get around to actually reading it… I picked Room by Emma Donoghue. Another contender is Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan because I’m an awful Classicist for not having started that series yet. I’d also really like to read and watch How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell. 

Room cover

Challenge Six Book Choice = Room by Emma Donoghue (352 pages)

Back-ups = Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (377 pages)

or

How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell (240 pages)

Challenge 7: Read seven books

If I am able to read seven books then GO ME.

So, there you have it. As you can see, I’ve picked quite short books as I’ll be back at work and I’m still not in the full swing of reading yet. But I’m getting there and I’m hoping that the BookTubeAThon is going to be rather motivational! I’m super excited to see how much I can get read in seven days. It’d be nice to fulfil all of the challenges too, but that’s secondary.

If you are participating in the BookTubeAThon, leave a comment with a link to your TBR! I’ll be excited to see what everyone is reading.

SSJTimeLord

Leave a Reply

