Book Hauls

March Book Haul

Hello all! I’m back! I’m ill and have been in bed for the past few days so I’m feeling a bit sorry for myself. My fellow bloggers may notice that I am liking posts from many moons ago and that is because WordPress has delightfully informed me that I haven’t read any blog posts since February 20th or so…

I still have quite a few weeks’ worth of posts to catch up on so please bear with me. It has been quite a while since I last put up a post as I’ve been travelling for most of last month, but I hope I should soon be back to posting a bit more regularly (and perhaps get some of those book tags out of the way!) Today, I’ll be talking about the six books I bought/acquired in March. They are:

The mysteey of the jewelled moth

1. The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine Woodfine: I love the cover art of this book! It is Woodfine’s sequel to the The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, which I really enjoyed reading last summer. I hope it will be as charming as the first!  I can’t wait to catch up with the wonderful heroines, Sophie and Lil, as they embark on their next adventure!

fool's assassin

2. Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb: I still haven’t read anything by Robin Hobb, but this was only £0.99 so as usual, I had to grab this bargain. Unfortunately, I’m in the middle of reading an epic fantasy series (The Demon Cycle by Peter V. Brett) and think that I’m going to stay away from that genre for a little bit when I finish with the latest installment.

High-Rise

3. High-Rise by J.G. BallardThis book has recently been made into a film starring Tom Hiddleston (one of my favourite actors at the moment) but I tend to like reading books before seeing their film adaptations, so when this flashed up on BookBub as being only £0.99, I couldn’t say no. Also, it’s another book to get me reading more non-fantasy/YA books. That is, if I get around to reading it (my current TBR is VERY long). 

Reasons to stay alive

4. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig: I borrowed this book a few months ago from my friend Carla but didn’t finish it before heading off on my work travels. Fran works in a second hand bookshop and noticed this (along with the two other books below) so now I have a copy of my own. I’m currently reading three books simultaneously (which is something I don’t tend to like doing) but would like to finish this once I’m done with those.

the humans

5. The Humans by Matt Haig: My friend Gilly is obsessed with Matt Haig so I thought I’d try some of his fiction writing too. The blurb seems quite intriguing…

the watchmaker of filigree street

6. The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley: I have no idea if I’ll like this book. However, there are very few books that I would buy in hardcover. This is one of them. The cover is amazing in hardcover, so I couldn’t resist. I hope I’ll like it!

Have you read any of these books? Do you have any recommendations based on these books? Do you have any way of stopping me from buying more books? If so, or you have any other comments, please leave them below! 

That’s all from me for now. My March Wrap-Up will be published in a few days, so look out for that.

TTFN,

SSJTimeLord

Leave a Reply

