Book Hauls

February Book Haul

Hello all, and welcome to my February Book Haul (better late than never)! A whopping 8 books this time: 2 paperbacks, 6 Kindle books (as indicated by [K]) and 2 audiobooks (as indicated by [A]) this time. I will never learn…

I am the Messenger

1. I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak: I haven’t read The Book Thief yet (I know, what have I been doing with my life?!) but I am intrigued by I am the Messenger and so decided to order it from Amazon as part of their 3 for £10 paperbacks.

red queen

2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard: Another book bought as part of the 3 for £10 paperbacks, I don’t know much about this one, but I’ve seen it a lot on the blogosphere so thought I’d try it.

ship of magic

3. [K] Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb: Robin Hobb is one of those authors whose work I have been meaning to read for such a long time. I already have Assassin’s Apprentice (Book 1 of the Farseer Trilogy) on Kindle, but as ever, have yet to read it. This book was free on a promotion on Amazon. I probably won’t get around to reading this for some time yet, especially as I would like to read it after the Farseer trilogy.

code name verity

4. [K] Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: Every once in a while, I try to force myself to get a book outside of my reading comfort zone. This is that book. Historical fiction is a genre I used to enjoy a lot more when I was younger, but fantasy has truly taken over. Having said that, that is probably only because I don’t usually give anything else a chance! As you may have seen in my previous blog post, I was so glad I read The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks as my Library Scavenger Hunt book last month. Not my usual type of book, but I need to stop being such a genre snob! Thus I’m excited to see how I feel about this one.

neverwhere

5. [A] Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman: I haven’t actually read Neverwhere yet. I know, what am I doing with my life? I listened to *most* of the BBC radio drama a while back (which has an excellent cast and is currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio at the moment, so go check that out!) but kind of wanted to read it before finishing it. I’ve never listened to an audiobook before, but the free Audible trial gave me a credit that went towards this book because Neil Gaiman narrates it and so I like the fact that he would get all of the nuances right. I have no idea when I will listen to this; I may listen to 30 minutes before bed or something. I initially had the idea of listening to it while driving, but my attention span isn’t great so I prefer episodic podcasts for driving.

Wtnv novel

6. [A] Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor: Another free credit from the Audible trial and so it went towards the Welcome to Night Vale novel. Now, I will not be listening to this until I read it, because if podcast creators decide to sit down and write a book, I want to read it, not listen to it. I think that the experience of reading phrases and names that you have only heard before will be surreal and super cool, so I’m waiting for the paperback version to come out (PLEASE HURRY UP, OCTOBER!).

How_to_Train_Your_Dragon

7. [K] How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell: A Kindle Daily Deal that I had to buy. I haven’t seen the films yet, but I would love to read this series. I’ll probably whizz through this book because it seems so entertaining!

Brent Roth trilogy8. [K] A Virtual Dream by Brent Roth and 9. [K] Ashes of the Fallen by Brent Roth and 10. [K] Shadows in the Flame by Brent Roth:  These three books were on the Kindle Daily Deals as well. LitRPG is something I haven’t tried yet, but know I will probably love. I received Ready Player One for Christmas two years ago but still haven’t got around to reading it. I have no idea why! These sounded interesting though and I hope that this genre will be a new love of mine!

So quite a lot, but as ever, most of them were free or on offer. Having said that, I would like to at least try and read more than I buy in any given month from now on. I have so many unread books, it’s a bit of a joke. 😀

So, until next time, folks! Thanks for reading!

SSJTimeLord

Leave a Reply

