Book Hauls · Monthly Hauls

January Book Haul

Hello all! Yes, it’s that time again. I’ll be discussing the books I acquired during the month of January. There are a fair few this month (12 in total) but I promise that December and January will soon be thought of as anomalies in terms of my book buying. 🙄 I really need to cut down on the amount of books I purchase, especially as most of the books I read in January came from the library…

Without any further ado, the books!

2016-02-02 08.27.18

1. The Colour Out of Space by H.P. Lovecraft

I picked up this book in a charity sale as part of a 3 for £1 deal at my local community hospital. How could I say no? I’ve never read any Lovecraft before so I thought I’d do well to grab this horror novel. I hear it’s pretty scary – the last thing I read that truly scared me was a Goosebumps book when I was still in school… so I’m quite excited to venture into this genre after such a long time! 😎

2. Case Histories by Kate Atkinson

Kate Atkinson is a name I hear often and feel bad when I can’t join in the conversation. As I would like to read more widely, I picked up this as part of the 3 for £1 deal I mentioned above. I like the idea of reading more mystery so I’m hopeful that this will be interesting.

*In case you are wondering, the third book I got as part of the 3 for £1 deal was a second-hand copy of The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon, but seeing as I already own this book, I thought I would give it to someone else as no other books took my fancy I’m a really nice person.*

3. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

2016-02-02 08.22.03

The novel behind my current favourite (it changes constantly) of the Studio Ghibli films. I hear that there is a lot more in the book than in the film. Plus, I really like the cover. 😀

4. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

I picked this up after winning Firefight in a Goodreads giveaway last month. I plan on reading both fairly soon.

5. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This was a birthday present from Fran at Jar of Books. I really want to go into this book blind, so I don’t know all that much about it except that it is told through a series of emails, images, interviews, military documents and the like.

6. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

I’ve wanted to buy and read this book for such a long time now and I have finally got my hands on it! It is written from the perspective of Christopher Boone, who has Asperger’s. He embarks on a quest as a detective to solve a murder mystery Sherlock Holmes-style. I’d also love to see this on the West End once I’ve read it – an incentive to read it sooner rather than later!

7. Imperium by Robert Harris

I picked this up at Waterstones for an amazing £0.99. The first in the Cicero series (a historical figure whom I adore most ardently), this book follows a young 27 year old Cicero and his struggle for power in the Roman Republic. As much as I love Cicero (which means ‘chickpea’!), I probably won’t get around to reading this for a while as I’m in such a huge fantasy mood at the moment.

8. More Than This by Patrick Ness

I got this from The Book People for a really good price. I’ve been meaning to read more of Patrick Ness’ work. I also have The Rest of Us Just Live Here and the Chaos Walking Trilogy which I yet to read! I must get a move on!

9. Step Aside, Pops by Kate Beaton

10. Hark! A Vagrant by Kate Beaton

Wit and humour about history and literature, you say? Let me at it! I loved The Princess and the Pony so I’m going to enjoy these compendiums of Beaton’s online comic strips.

11. Doctor Who Colouring Book by James Newman Gray, Lee Teng Chew and Jan Smith

This was a Christmas present from Fran – there are no words in it, but I think it counts. 🙄 I went out and bought some brand new colouring pencils… and managed to misplace them. I know they are somewhere in my house, so being the miser that I am (when it comes to everything but books), I am very reluctant to go out and buy some more. I will find them and then I will colour to my heart’s content and then I will show off my colouring in skills.

12. Saga, Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan

The fifth installment of this amazing space opera! I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet, but I really want to re-read Vols. 1-4 before finding out what happens next!

And that’s it! (If I can get away with saying that about 12 books…)

I am going to aim to read more than I buy in any given month starting with February. I have TOO many books that I have yet to read and I would like to change that.

Thanks for reading!

SSJTimeLord

 

2 thoughts on “January Book Haul

  1. Great list! I loved Curious Incident, Step Aside Pops and Hark! A Vagrant. I bought volume 1 of Saga a while ago but have yet to actually pick it up. I got the Harry Potter colouring book for Christmas and have yet to pick up any pencils to use but I’m looking forward to it! Maybe I’ll ask for the Doctor Who one next year…

    Like

Leave a Reply

