Book Hauls · Monthly Hauls · TBR

December Book Haul a.k.a ALL the books and introducing the Kindle TBR Jar!

Hello all and welcome to my December Book Haul. December is always a tough month, especially just after Christmas because EVERYTHING is on sale. Especially Kindle books… There are a lot of books coming up in this post. 23 to be precise. I know, I know, but first, hear me out. I didn’t BUY all of these books! In fact, a fair few were Christmas gifts or prizes from giveaways. \O/

Out of these 23 books, 12 are Kindle books. One day during the holidays, I was feeling a bit sad and we all know that the best thing to do when you are sad is to buy books. In fact, the best thing to do when you are happy is buy books. (Do you see why I needed to implement a book-buying ban?!) Another thing that cheered me up was the fact that a lot of the Kindle books didn’t cost me ANY money; it turns out I had some promotional credit on my Amazon account. In any case, I tend not to buy Kindle books that cost more than £0.99 or £1.99 for sequels. So, it’s not as bad as it looks! Promise! 🙄

TL;DR: I got a lot of books but it was the Christmas month so I regret NOTHING.

To prevent this post from boring you to death, I won’t be writing descriptions of the Kindle books. That would just be overkill. Instead, please click the link to the Goodreads page if you would like to know more about that particular book.

Kindle TBR Jar

Before we get going with the haul, I think that this is a great time to announce my Kindle TBR Jar! I have (and continue to get) many Kindle books but I hardly use my Kindle now that I’ve moved back to the UK and I no longer have to worry about books making up most of my luggage allowance on planes any more. 😎

Thus, I have decided to create the Kindle TBR Jar: I will write out the titles of books on my Kindle I have yet to read, pop them in the jar and pick one at the beginning of every month to read before the month ends. As I already have a Kindle book on my January TBR (The Painted Man by Peter V. Brett), I will start using the Kindle TBR Jar from February. (This also gives me time to make the jar look awesome!)

December Book Haul

1. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

2. The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

3. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

These YA dystopian sci-fi books have been on my to-read list for such a long time now. Seeing as I loved A Monster Calls, I would really like to read more of Patrick Ness’s work. I was lucky enough to find all three books available from The Book People for just £5!

Elizabeth is Missing

4. Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey

This book follows Maud, an elderly woman with dementia who is convinced her best friend, Elizabeth has gone missing and is in danger. Her family will not listen to her pleas so she decides to embark on a quest to find Elizabeth. This was a Christmas gift from my dear friend, Kerry. I have heard good things about this book, plus it is Emma Healey’s debut novel, so I’m excited about this one. 😀

5. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

6. The Gift of the Magi and Other Short Stories by O. Henry

The Scarlet Letter and The Gift of the Magi and Other Short Stories were both Christmas gifts from my mother. I’ve been meaning to pick up a copy ever since watching the film, Easy A, so, thank you, dear Mother. The Gift of the Magi is a collection of short stories by William Sydney Porter under the pen name, O. Henry seems perfect for a train journey.

Firefight

7. Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

I was lucky enough to win this book (the second in the Reckoners series) in a giveaway on Goodreads. I have read The Final Empire and it instantly became one of my favourite books. As I’ve said in previous posts, I’ve yet to finish the other two books in The Mistborn Trilogy, but I’m sure that I’ll enjoy Firefight (once I’ve read Steelheart that is).

8. Blubber by Judy Blume

9. My Secret Rockstar Boyfriend by Eleanor Wood

10. Smart by Kim Slater

The prize pack I won during the Anti-Bullying Week readathon contained these three books. The cover of Smart just makes me want to read it so I’ll probably get to that one first.

Killing the Dead

11. Killing the Dead by Marcus Sedgewick

This short novella was written for World Book Day and I found it in Morrisons for £1.00. I haven’t read anything by Marcus Sedgewick before, so I’m a little unsure of what to expect, but again, this will be great for a bus (if my newly acquired tendency for motion sickness doesn’t get the better of me) or train journey.

Kindle books

1. [K] Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

2. [K] Authority by Jeff VanderMeer

me-and-earl-and-the-dying-girl.35435

3. [K] Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

the sirens of titan

4. [K] The Sirens of Titans by Kurt Vonnegut

the men who stare at goats

5. [K] The Men Who Stare at Goats by Jon Ronson

6. [K] The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

7. [K] The Glass Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

8. [K] The Master Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

theDemonCycle

9. [K] The Painted Man by Peter V. Brett

10. [K] The Desert Spear by Peter V. Brett

11. [K] The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett

what if

12. [K] What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe

Phew, that was a lot of books, but we got there in the end (if you bothered to read all the way to the end, that is! If so, thank you!)

Have you read any of the books listed above? If so, please leave a comment below telling me what you thought!

Thanks for reading!

SSJ Time Lord

 

3 thoughts on “December Book Haul a.k.a ALL the books and introducing the Kindle TBR Jar!

  1. Oh my word the Southern Reach trilogy (Annihilation/Authority/Acceptance) is just so BRILLIANT. It’s a series I’ve bonded with multiple coworkers over mutual love of, because it’s just so amazingly CREEPY; it gets under your skin and stays there and Jeff VanderMeer, whose earlier work I have distinctly mixed feelings about, jettisons a lot of what gives me those mixed feelings in favour of just Keeping It Creepy and also interesting and horrific and dark and Strange and Weird. Seriously those books are just amazing horror. Truly amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

