Awards/Book Tags

My Life in Books Tag

Hello all! I’m finally getting back into blogging and trying to do some of the many tags I’ve neglected! Thank you to all of you who have tagged me; I’ll try my best to get around to doing them.

Firstly, the “My Life in Books Tag!” I was tagged to do the My Life in Books tag by the wonderful Ariana over at The Quirky Book Nerd. Thanks ever so much for tagging me. She is an excellent blogger so please do check out her blog!

1. Find a book for each of your initials.

My initials are CMC so my books are:

Catching-Fire-Book-Cover

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

The Curious Incident

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

 

I have read Catching Fire (my favourite of the trilogy) and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow and just received a copy of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time but am very excited about reading it!

2. Count your age along your bookshelf—which book is it?

I’m 24, and the book I got was…

The gift of the magi

The Gift of the Magi and Other Short Stories by O. Henry which was a Christmas gift from my mother. 😀

3. Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

The Time Machine

The Time Machine by H.G. Wells

I am from London and am currently situated there for Christmas and New Year so I have picked The Time Machine by H.G. Wells, which is set in Richmond. I read this a couple of years ago and really enjoyed it.

 

4. Pick a book that represents a destination you would like to travel to.

The Lord of the Rings

The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

It is definitely time for a re-read of these books. I would love to be able to travel to Middle Earth. In terms of when, I think after the Orcs are gone, but before the Elves leave. That’d be nice.

5. Pick a book that’s your favorite colour.

night-circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Despite not technically being a colour, I’d have to go with black, so I’ve picked The Night Circus which I have just started reading. It has a really pretty cover in general, actually… 🙂

6. Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

The Little Prince cover

The Little Prince by Antoine De Saint-Exupéry

It is safe to say that this book is easily my favourite book of all time. Every time I read it, I find something new in its meaning; like I’m peeling back a layer with each read. For some reason that no one can comprehend, my French was pretty good as a child and I first read this as Le Petit Prince. Then I lost my French (and am struggling to get to a stage where I can read it in French again) and started reading it in English. It had a very different meaning for me as a child and I find it extraordinary that a book can be so multi-layered and complex whilst retaining accessibility for all ages.

7. Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

thethirtyninesteps

The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan

In recent memory, I’d say this one stands out. I really didn’t enjoy this one and I struggled through it. I might be going against the grain in saying this, but in all honesty, I think this is a classic because it kick-started another genre, not because it is a good story. I hear some of the film adaptations are really good. I guess we should just watch those.

 

8. Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it?

The Hero of Ages

The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

I have read The Final Empire (No. 1 in The Mistborn Trilogy) and started The Well of Ascension (No. 2) but stopped for no apparent reason despite loving the book. I think I was put off by the size of the books – I’d very much like to get back to these books fairly soon and I will feel a huge sense of accomplishment when I complete the last in the trilogy as I am pretty sure I will love the trilogy as a whole.

I tag the following bloggers:

bookstacksamber

AloofBooks

The Geek Couple

 

Thank you all for reading!

SSJ Time Lord

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Life in Books Tag

  1. Loved reading all of your answers! 😀 Sorry it took ages for me to reply; I’ve been having such a slow blogging month! I’ve not read The Lord of the Rings trilogy yet, but from what I know about Middle Earth, that would be a fantastic place to travel to 🙂 The Little Prince is such a lovely book. I have some wonderful memories of that one as well. Finishing the entire Mistborn trilogy is going to give me a huge sense of accomplishment too. I’m hoping I finally get through at least two of the novels this year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

