Monthly Hauls

November Book Haul

Hello all. I know this post is super late. Unfortunately, I’ve had a bit of a difficult December and the mother of all reading slumps. But I have finally got around to bringing you my November Haul.

It’s safe to say that the Book Buying Ban is well and truly over. I said I’d keep it up until December 1, and I got fairly close to that, so I’m proud of myself. I acquired a grand total of 6 books in November.

slaughterhouse 5

1. (K) Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut: I’ve been meaning to read some Kurt Vonnegut for a while and so I initially picked up a copy in my favourite bookstore. Then the very next day, I noticed it was on the Kindle Daily Deals for £0.99 so I took back my physical copy and exchanged it for Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell.

Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

2. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke: Another book I’ve been meaning to pick up for a while. As said above, I exchanged my copy of Slaughterhouse Five for this. The bookseller said she really enjoyed it and particularly liked the use of footnotes. I know for others, that might put them off, but I’m excited to see what I think of it. 

Grammar

3. Grammar: The Structure of Language by Rachel Grenon: A bit of a weird one, but my friend Kerry came to St Andrews for a visit and I took her to Topping and Company and it caught her eye so I bought us a copy each. Kerry wanted it because she’s currently undertaking a PGCE in Secondary English. I wanted it because I’m a geek.  

French for beginners

4.  French for Beginners by Angela Wilkes: Another weird one, but I’m learning French at the moment and thought this would be great for revision purposes.

Life of Pi

5.  Life of Pi by Yann Martel: I found this in a charity shop in great condition and so, of course, I had to buy it. I have to be honest, I probably won’t get around to reading this one anytime soon as I have no real inclination to read it, but I think it goes on that list of books I feel I ought to read eventually.

Ancillary Mercy

6. Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie: Yes, I realise that this is the third book in the Imperial Radch trilogy but I found a brand new copy in a charity shop for £2.00; how could I say no? I’m hoping I’ll be lucky enough to find the first two in charity shops as well, though it’s doubtful…

Thanks for reading!

SSJ Time Lord

 

 

 

 

One thought on “November Book Haul

Leave a Reply

