ReadAThons and Challenges

Anti-Bullying Week Readathon Wrap-up

Hello all! As you know, for the past week (16th-22nd Nov) I’ve been participating in the Anti-Bullying Week Readathon, hosted by the wonderful Sarah Churchill. It was so much fun following the Goodreads group and the progress of other readathon participants this week.  There were over 1000 of us in the Goodreads group! Go us! 

There were also giveaways of books that were kindly donated, and I was lucky enough to win a prize pack on Day 6! \O/

I won the following books, donated by MyKindaBook:

Blubber by Judy Blume
Smart by Kim Slater
– My Secret Rockstar Boyfriend by Eleanor Wood

I hope to read and review these in the new year; I’ll let you know how I get on with them! 

AntiBullyReads_BlogBanner

Last week was an eventful week for me; I was away for work which entailed a lot of driving in the evenings, meaning I didn’t have as much reading time as I would have liked. I should have prepared by finding an audiobook for the journeys but ah well, hindsight is a wonderful thing. 🙄 I did, however, start re-listening to Welcome to Night Vale from the beginning, so Cecil kept me company during those long drives. XD

So, the Anti-Bullying Week Readathon went pretty well for me under the circumstances; I completed one novel and two short stories. 😉 It’s a bit of a shame that I didn’t get to start Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, but I will put it on my TBR for next month.

Words cannot express how much I enjoyed this readathon – it was nice to read for a purpose and share my reading experiences with friends. On a more personal note, it has helped me to think about and discuss bullying more openly. I want to say a huge thank you to Sarah Churchill for hosting this readathon and I urge all of you readers out there to check out her incredible YouTube channel and Goodreads page and everything! 😀

[N.B. For time-saving purposes, I have decided to keep my mini-reviews short and sweet for this readathon wrap-up. I will have some more detailed reviews in my November wrap-up at the end of the month.]

Here is what I read this week!

1. The Transfer by Veronica Roth: I really enjoyed this short story and its exploration of emotional and physical bullying of a teenager by his father. 5/5

2. The Initiate by Veronica Roth: The Initiate follows on from the above story. In terms of bullying, it is not the focus of the story, but there are instances of it. This story didn’t grip me as much as The Transfer, but that is not to say I didn’t enjoy it; quite the contrary. 4/5

3. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee: All I am going to say is: I CANNOT BELIEVE I HADN’T READ THIS BOOK BEFORE. 5/5 (and added to my favourites list). 😀

As I said before, more detailed mini-reviews will be included in my monthly wrap-up at the end of the month.

I hope you all have an amazing week! I’m working away from home for most of this week too, but I’ll hopefully have time to devour my Library Scavenger Hunt book before the end of the month – I’ve yet to complete any of the monthly challenges I helped to create! :/ Here’s hoping!

Thanks for reading,

SSJ Time Lord

One thought on “Anti-Bullying Week Readathon Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

