Monthly Hauls

October Book Haul

Hello all! 🙂 The Book Buying Ban is… kind of still in effect. None of the Kindle Daily Deals took my fancy in October. Nevertheless, I managed to acquire 4 books this month and I technically only bought one of them… *more details below* :/

2015-11-02 21.25.21

1. We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler: I entered a prize draw at work and won this book! I’m not the luckiest of people when it comes to winning things, so I was pretty chuffed. XD I don’t know much about this book, but I do know that it was nominated for the Man Booker Prize last year so it should be an interesting read.

2. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness: You know when you play a video game or watch a TV show and you know everything that happens to the main character(s) and maybe their friends and their family? Well, what about all the other people in that universe? This book is all about the people in the background; a brilliant concept in my opinion. Also, this is a signed copy! Despite having read one other book by this author (A Monster Calls) I am very excited to read this one. It was purchased with a Topping and Co. voucher that my good friend Gilly got me as a leaving present when I moved back to Scotland. (THANK YOU GILLY!) Obviously, I ranted about my brief 15 minute trip to Topping and Co. in July a bit too much! I hope to read this book before Christmas though my TBR pile is huge at the moment…

3. Mister Monday by Garth Nix: There was a little money left over on the voucher after getting TRoUJLH so I decided to put the £2.01 towards the first book in “The Keys to the Kingdom” series.  So, I technically didn’t buy it… This book introduces 12 year-old asthmatic Arthur Penhaligon (that name sounds familiar… nudge nudge wink wink…) who inherits a strange clock-hand. After that, things start to get weird (they always do, don’t they?) I really hope I like this book as I have tried reading Sabriel twice and couldn’t quite get into it. That said, these books seem targeted to a younger age group so they will probably have a completely different dynamic. It seems like it could be a fun series, so if I like this one, I’ll be sure to pick up the rest.

4. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons: This comic novel parodies the literary accounts of the idealised countryside. This was a spur of the moment purchase; made when I took my friend Pippa to Topping and Co. (seriously, it’s pretty much my second home…) I’d had a rubbish week and was feeling sorry for myself, so on Fran’s advice, I picked this to cheer myself up. I hope to read it this month and it’d be nice to read something a bit different to what I’m used to.

So that’s my October Book Haul. As you can see, the Book Buying Ban has been somewhat effective in stopping me from buying incredible amounts of books but on the other hand, I am not reading any more than I would without it. Still, I think I will keep it in effect until Dec 1 as it’s been useful having the ability to afford food. 😀

Geeky love,

SSJ Time Lord

9 thoughts on “October Book Haul

  1. Ohmygod We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves is AMAZING. Seriously. I mean, I’m a little biased on this one given the publisher, but I hadn’t even realised until I’d read it by which point I was oh so very very in love with it! But beware reviews because there’s some really impactful stuff in there whose impact is actually diluted by spoilers, I think? But seriously that book. OMG. Amaze.

    Like

  2. Hi! Are you going to review any of these? I read We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves a little while ago and loved it so would be really interested to see what you thought. I’ve also read The Rest of Us Just Live Here and Cold Comfort Farm, although CCF was quite a while ago. I also love Garth Nix but have failed to read his Keys to the Kingdom series so it would be great to hear about it. I also noticed you’re reading Fire Colour One which I had the good fortune to pick up a signed copy of at the Hay Festival this year. Sorry for the really long comment, it’s just exciting to see someone reading so many books I’ve just read! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello! Thanks for the comment! I hope to review these when I get around to reading them. I usually do monthly mini-reviews on the books I’ve read (though I’m behind with blogging so my November Wrap-Up probably won’t be seen until the middle of next week. I’ve been super busy lately so I probably won’t get around to reading that much until the Christmas holidays and I also have a bunch of library books I’m trying to get through first. I’ve only read the first few pages of Fire Colour One and I hope to finish it this weekend as it doesn’t seem that long. It’s awesome that you got a signed copy! 😀

      Like

      1. No worries! 🙂 Ok, thanks for the info I’ll look forward to seeing it! Good luck with all your reading, it’s a hectic time of year. Yeah it’s great, I’ve read a lot of Jenny Valentine and really liked her style and I just happened to see it in the signed books bin. I didn’t get to meet her but that’s probably a good thing as I’d have no clue what to say >_<.

        Like

      2. That’s no problem and thank you! I haven’t read any of her other stuff, so if I like Fire Colour One, I’ll be sure to seek her out. I’d be the same if I met an author I really admired!

        Like

  3. Awesome. If you do like it, I’d really recommend Broken Soup, which was nominated for a ton of awards, and Finding Violet Park, which was actually on the shortlist for the Carnegie Medal. They were the first two I read from her and they’ve remained my favourites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

