Monthly Wrap-Ups

October Wrap-Up

Hello all. I just realised that I forgot to write my one word descriptions for last month’s books. Seeing as I only got through 2 books last month, I’ll write them now. 🙂

Fahrenheit 451: Fiery 

The Stranger: Curious

In October, I managed to complete 2 novels and 1 comic book. My addiction for Fire Emblem: Awakening has waned for the time being, meaning I should be able to get more books read next month. Without further ado, here’s what I read:

1. The Player on the Other Side by Ellery Queen

Forgettable…

Ellery Queen - The Player on the Other Side

1 star f

Initially, I gave this book 2 stars, probably because I actually finished it, but the more I thought about it, the more I came to realise that I really disliked it. A series of murders are carried out throughout the book; however, the reader is made aware of the perpetrator at the beginning. This was probably the only thing I found interesting about it. Thus the main character, Ellery Queen – who is a writer and not a detective – spends the rest of the book trying to figure out the “murderer behind the murderer” so to speak. I finished this book solely because I wanted to know how it ended. The characters were boring, the writing was very cheesy but OK (and was ghost-written by Theodore Sturgeon, better known for his sci-fi writing rather than the two cousins, Frederic Dannay and Manfred Lee) and the ending was both a cop-out and a let-down in my opinion though the psuedo-psychological manner of which it comes about is understandable for something written in the early 1950s. It was also highly disappointing that playing cards didn’t have anything to do with the story whatsoever, especially as the cover was my reason for picking this book. Definitely not my cup of tea. 1/5

2. The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris

Entertaining!

The Gospel of Loki cover3 star fI read this book as part of a read-along with two friends, Carla and Fran from Nightjar’s Jar of Books and we read about 50 pages a day. This is Harris’ first fantasy novel and is a retelling of the rise and fall of the Norse gods, told from the perspective of Loki. It is divided into lessons, rather than chapters and this format works well to make the reader feel as though they are learning from these stories. The overarching story didn’t entice me as much as the individual stories found in these lessons, which were entertaining; when I got to the end of a lesson, I felt little inspiration to read on, which made me thankful that we chose this book for a read-along. Another issue I had was Harris’ choice to give Loki recurring catchphrases. The first three mentions or so made me chuckle, but after that, the joke wore thin. Loki also (rather excessively) points out that for him, the end of the book has already happened. For me, these constant reminders of his omniscience also didn’t help the flow of the book. All that said, this book was very witty, entertaining and extremely well written. I feel a bit bad for not giving it four stars because I did enjoy it and would recommend it. 3/5

3. Fables, Vol 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham

Fun!

Fables vol 1 legends of exile4 star rating greyThis series follows the “Fables”, made up of various characters from folklore and fairy tales have been forced into exile by “The Adversary”, whom the reader knows little about at this stage. Exiled from their enchanted homelands, they have emigrated to Earth where many reside in “Fabletown”, in New York City. I felt that the story started out a bit slow, but as I moved further on, I found this volume hard to put down. The story kept me interested and I was a fan of the humour (there are some laugh out loud moments) and I enjoyed the art. I’m excited to read more of this series. 4/5

Thanks for reading!

SSJ Time Lord

Leave a Reply

