Monthly Hauls · Monthly Wrap-Ups

September Wrap-up and Monthly Haul

Hello all. Again, it’s been a long time since my last post. I’ve been super busy since moving to St Andrews and I haven’t really had a chance to stop! Also, for the past week, I’ve been playing Fire Emblem: Awakening in every spare moment and thus have not been reading. But I promise to start a new book this morning!

September Wrap-up

This will be a rather short post as September was a very bad reading month for me. I managed to read only two books. 😦 Though they can both be considered classics, so yay? As a result, I have reduced my Goodreads challenge to 35 books this year and I am now only 2 books behind schedule (as opposed to 16 or so). If I can tear myself away from Fire Emblem: Awakening for a bit, then I know I can get around to reading some of the many books on my TBR and maybe actually complete this month’s Library Scavenger Hunt challenge!

1. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray BradburyFahrenheit 451 cover4 star f

This book is about Guy Montag, a fireman in a futuristic world where books are banned and firemen start fires (to burn said books) rather than put them out. An issue I had was that there were sections of the book where I couldn’t stop reading as it was so engrossing but then other sections felt so hard to get through. Bradbury’s use of metaphors was sometimes utilised very effectively, but at other times, it was a bit too ‘flowery’ for my liking and I would have appreciated that he’d just make his point and move on with the story. I also, at first, struggled with Bradbury’s rather erratic writing style. I then realised that this is his way of conveying the protagonist’s erratic internal dialogue after which I enjoyed the portrayal much more. Overall, I must say that I enjoyed this book very much. It really gets you thinking about a world without books and the reasons behind the ban are all the more intriguing (no spoilers!) To be honest, this book really should have got me reading more if anything (imagine if books were banned tomorrow!!) This book is also highly quotable and I spent a lot of time highlighting my favourite parts on my Kindle. This is a book I will definitely re-read. 4/5

2. The Stranger by Albert Camus (translated by Matthew Ward)

The Stranger cover 4 star f

I must say, I am finding it quite difficult to review this book. In The Stranger, Meursault, the narrator is living in Algiers. The book starts with his mother’s death, towards which he feels no emotion or any sense of grief. From there on, his detachment becomes more and more apparent in the things he says and gets involved in; he lives in the moment and one can see the existential undertones throughout this book. Meursault ended up committing a senseless crime for which reason, he cannot really explain. I don’t really want to say much more about this book in case you want to read it. I feel as though this is a book you really need to form your own opinions about. This was a very interesting read; it is written in a very direct manner, with short, succinct sentences. I spent a lot of time wondering if the translation had any effect on my understanding of the book and its main character. A re-read of this book is definitely on the cards as it was so intriguing and I would like to try different translations to compare. Perhaps if my language skills ever allows for it, I will read it in the original French. 4/5

September Haul

After a dismal reading month, I’m pleased to announce that the Book Buying Ban (BBB) has worked a considerable amount in stopping me from buying too many books. However, I still ended up buying one book despite not reading five that I already own. But considering I acquired 15 books in August, this is a major success in my book (extremely bad pun so very much intended). The BBB is still in effect – the plan is go keep it going until Dec 1.

Here is my September Haul (all one book of it!)

Outlander TV tie in book cover

1. (K) Outlander by Diana Gabaldon: Kindle Daily Deals, be damned! (NO I DON’T MEAN IT, I LOVE YOU REALLY). *ahem* Yes, where was I? Oh, that’s right. I finally got my copy of the first in the Outlander books at the lovely price of £0.99. 😀 I don’t like the TV tie-in cover, but it’s on my Kindle, so I also don’t mind as much. In Outlander, a combat nurse, Claire goes on a second honeymoon to the Highlands with her husband in 1946. She walks through a set of standing stones and time travel commences, with her ending up in 1743. Adventure and romance ensue as she stumbles across Jamie Fraser, a Scots warrior. Sounds interesting and at 868 pages, I might put off reading this until Christmas time.

There we have it. I’ve promised a bookshop review for some time now, so I’ll see if I can get that done sooner rather than later.

Geeky love,

SSJ Time Lord

Leave a Reply

