Monthly Hauls

Monthly Haul – August 2015

Hello all! It’s been a while since my last post, but I’m back and ready to announce the fifteen books (including five Kindle books) that I acquired during the month of August! I’ve successfully moved back to St Andrews and the very first thing I did upon arrival, before moving into my new house was… join the local library! XD I took some time to find my Library Scavenger Hunt book and the incredibly friendly and helpful staff even let me leave my luggage there for a few hours, allowing me to get breakfast and roam around the town with Carla and we even popped into Topping and Company – one of the most beautiful bookshops ever (I will definitely do a bookshop review in the near future).

Here is my August Haul!


2015-08-30 14.41.37The Invisible LibraryThe Ocean at the end of the lane coverFahrenheit 451 coverRed Seas under Red Skies coverThe Republic of Thieves cover

1. The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey: I don’t actually know much about this book, but it is set in New York and reminds me of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones (which I haven’t actually read yet!) but it was recommended to me by Fran when we saw it in Oxfam Books in Bloomsbury. I brought this with me to Scotland, so it would be nice to read it in the near future; I’ll add it to my seemingly endless TBR!

2. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk: I love, love, love the film so I feel I ought to read it. This was a bargain at… 5 pence. That’s right, £0.05. I popped into my local Cash Converters looking for some cheap games and stumbled across super cheap books. I was glad that my Book Buying Ban hadn’t come into effect yet.

3. About a Boy by Nick Hornby: A coming of age novel set in 1993 following two protagonists, schoolboy Marcus and 36 year-old bachelor, Will. Another bargain at 5 pence and I have not seen the film (which stars a young Nicholas Hoult of X-Men: First Class and Days of Future Past fame), so I’m pretty excited about reading this one.

4. We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Schriver: This is a novel about a fictional school massacre and comes from the perspective of the killer’s mother. I have been meaning to get a copy of this book for some time now and so when I saw it for 5 pence, I obviously had to get it.

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: I bought this book in Oxfam Books and read it for two BookTubeAThon challenges. For my mini review, please click here.

6. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: Yes, I bought two copies of this book in the same month, in the same Oxfam Books, but at different times. The paperback version I bought first, but it wasn’t in the greatest condition. I just so happened to be back in the same branch a couple of weeks later and there was a lovely, nearly new hardcover edition for only £1 more than the paperback. Having already read it and adoring the story, I had to get it.

7. and 8. The Greek Myths I and II by Robert Graves: Knowing my background in Classics, a lovely couple I know in France were nice enough to give these beautiful copies from The Folio Society. I have left these at home for the time being, but I wish I’d taken a picture of the covers!

9. The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie: Every ninety years, twelve gods are reincarnated to live as humans in the form of pop stars for two years before they die. This was a recommendation from my friend, D (check out their blog, Intellectus Speculativus). The premise of this one sounds promising and I’ve had a flick through and seen the gorgeous artwork, so I’m hoping to read this one fairly soon.

10. East of West Vol. 1 by Jonathan Hickman and Nick Dragotta: This looks to me like a dystopian Western set in a post-apocalyptic USA. The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse are in it, I think. As you can tell, I know little about this one but I’ve heard people say it’s good and it was fairly cheap at Orbital Comics, so I bought this on a whim.

11. (K) The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman: The main character, Irene is an librarian, but also a professional spy for the library, which harvests fiction from different realities. She and her assistant, Kai are sent on a missions to retrieve a dangerous book in an alternate London, but they discover it has already been taken. With a description like, “think Doctor Who with librarian spies”, how could I not buy this?

12. (K) The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: To tell the truth, I didn’t buy this book for any reason other than it was 99p on the Kindle Daily Deals. I’ve yet to read any solo Neil Gaiman books, so perhaps I’ll start with this one.

13. (K) Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury: This book is set in a future America where books are outlawed and follows Guy Montag, a fireman whose job is to burn books. He gets on with his life, until he meets 17 year-old Clarisse, his new neighbour and strikes up a friendship with her. Her eccentricism leads him to reevaluate his life, causing his life to spiral out of control. In a bid to read more classics, I bought this book and started it fairly soon after. I got a lot from this book and will be discussing my thoughts in my monthly wrap-up.

14. (K) Red Seas Under Red Skies by Scott Lynch: The second in the Gentleman Bastard series. Having already owned a Kindle copy of the first book in the series, I was very happy to see this along with book 3 on Kindle Daily Deals. I’ve yet to finish The Lies of Locke Lamora, but I did read the first few pages and thought instantly that I’d enjoy this series.

15. (K) The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch: The third in the Gentleman Bastard Series. Again, at £1.99, this was a purchase I was happy to make.

OK, that’s all from me. Expect a much shorter wrap-up next month (or perhaps none at all) as I stumble through life gritting my teeth every time I go past a bookshop and battling on through with major withdrawal symptoms.

Thanks for reading. And remember to follow this blog for updates of new posts!

SSJ Time Lord

One thought on “Monthly Haul – August 2015

Leave a Reply

