Monthly Wrap-Ups · ReadAThons and Challenges

August Wrap-Up and Library Scavenger Hunt

I’m rather sad that my Book Buying Ban (BBB) comes into effect today (September 1st). I need to have read 5 books that I own before being able to buy a book. Which is difficult as I have many a library book to complete and take back before I leave for Scotland on Friday… :/

That said, I read a grand total of 5 books in August, a rather feeble effort. These comprised of 3 novels, 1 graphic novel and 1 children’s picture book. I didn’t read anything at all on the last day of the BookTubeAThon as I was preparing for an interview. Since then, I haven’t very read much at all. I was not/am not in a reading slump, but rather, I’ve been very distracted by Fire Emblem: Awakening, Pokemon Shuffle, flat-hunting and packing. I’m hoping things will settle down by the end of September once I’ve moved into my new house and established a routine – this summer has been fantastic, but rather haphazard!

PS_3DS_FireEmblemAwakening_enGBPokemon shuffle

Plus, I’ve worked out that to meet my Goodreads challenge of reading 52 books this year, I must read an average of 8 books per month for the next four months. 😳 Expect a lot of short stories, children’s books and graphic novels! 😎

August Wrap-up

You can see the mini-reviews for the books I read between August 1st and August 9th for the BookTubeAThon on other posts. Books 1 and 2 can be found here and Book 3, here. Look below for my one word description of them:

  1. A Monster Calls by Patrick NessGripping!
  2. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett: Eccentric…
  3. The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg: Unexpected!

Since then, I’ve read another 2 books (one of which was a children’s picture book, which I thoroughly enjoyed during the 5 minutes it took to read).

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky

Intriguing… 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower cover

5 star fThis book really wasn’t what I was expecting. It was funny, endearing and thought-provoking; only three of the many adjectives I would use to describe this wonderfully varied story. Written in the form of letters to an anonymous addressee, this coming-of-age novel takes us through Charlie’s first year at high school, tackling themes including friendship, family, sexuality and mental illness. I felt a range of emotions reading this, happiness, contentment, sadness, anger and rare feeling of nostalgic longing for my school days (I say rare because I didn’t enjoy my school days at all, but rather I realised I appreciated that period of growing up a tiny bit more after reading this). I enjoyed this book very much and would definitely recommend it. 5/5

5. The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton

CUUUUUUUTE.

PrincessandPony_HiRes

5 star fKate Beaton, of “Hark! A Vagrant” fame brings us “The Princess and the Pony”, a children’s picture book about… you guessed it, a princess and a pony. Princess Pinecone is a warrior, but instead of getting birthday presents fit for a warrior, she gets cosy jumpers. So, for her next birthday, she makes sure that her parents know that she wants a strong, warrior’s horse. And, of course… she gets a rather derpy pony. Hilarity and cuteness ensues. I loved this book; the artwork is incredible and deserves to be paid close attention. The story is adorable too. 5/5

Library Scavenger Hunt

Fran and I have teamed up to bring you the Library Scavenger Hunt; a monthly challenge will posted on our Goodreads group (found here) and all you have to do is go to a library of your choice and find a book that fits the parameters. The challenges are designed to get you reading books more widely. There is no obligation to fulfil all of the challenges, so why not join our group? 😀

Ellery Queen - The Player on the Other Side

The August challenge was: Find and read a book with a playing card on the cover

I started reading “The Player on the Other Side” by Ellery Queen, but unfortunately, I did not finish it before the end of August. However, I’m interested to see where the story will take me – it is definitely not my usual type of book, but the story is rather intriguing, plus it’s a fairly easy read, so look out for my mini review.

Here be the September challenge: Find and read a book with a foreign title

I’m rather excited by this challenge; I think it will be much easier to find September’s book than it was to find August’s!

That’s all from me for now.

SSJ Time Lord 😀

Leave a Reply

