Book Hauls

Monthly Haul – July 2015

This post is long overdue, but I’ve been really busy sorting out my imminent move to Scotland. But, here it is at last!

In July, I seem to have acquired a total of 14 books. Having been in Hong Kong up until June 3rd, I was unable to buy physical copies of books due to a silly thing called “luggage allowance” so I think I have gone a little crazy on the whole buying books things. I have thus decided to implement a book-buying ban (BBB) effective September 1st:

BBB: In order to purchase one book, I must have read five books that I own.

Thus, this ban does not include library books, which is a shame. However, not only will this ban save me from starvation, but it will also act as an excellent motivator to read more of the books on my shelf! \O/

Here is my July Haul!

2015-08-30 14.37.21

1. Nation by Terry Pratchett: This low fantasy novel gives an alternative history of the world in the 1860s, shortly after Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species was published. This was recommended to me by my dear friend, Grace who got me to read the first page and three-quarters. Instantly I knew that I had to buy this book. The day after, I made a brief three hour visit to St Andrews. A wonderful new bookshop has opened up there – Topping and Company, which also has branches in Bath and Ely. I only had 15 minutes to spare, but I decided on picking up Nation before leaving the store. This is a non-Discworld book and although I would like to read Pratchett’s work chronologically, I think I might make an exception for this book.

2. The Bees by Laline Paull: A novel that depicts what life might look like to a hive member. It follows the life of Flora 717, a bee who doesn’t seem to fit into the box of the typical bee. I’d heard a bit about this book and it caught my eye in Waterstones, so I had to take advantage of the “Buy One, Get One Half Price” offer.

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky: This coming-of-age story, written in the form of letters, follows Charlie, a introspective and rather shy freshman during his first year of high school. This book has been recommended to me by quite a few of my friends and it was rather inexpensive. I have already read it and you’ll find my mini-review in my August Wrap-up post later this month.

4. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon: Set in 2059, this part fantasy, part dystopian novel follows Paige Mahoney, a nineteen year old dreamwalker who breaks into people’s mind to find information. When she is attacked, drugged and kidnapped, she is taken to Oxford, a city that has been kept secret for 200 years where the powers that be want to use Paige’s powers for another purpose. I’ve been wanting to buy this book for a while now and I found this signed copy in Waterstones’ Gower Street branch, so all is well with the world!

5. The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon: The second novel in what is set to be a seven part series. This copy of the sequel to The Bone Season was also signed, so I just had to buy it. It’s the shame the spines aren’t in the same style. I haven’t checked to see if there are other editions available, but I think I can just about live with it.

6. The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett: This Discworld novel follows on from The Colour of Magic which I read for BookTubeAThon. This was a gift from my wonderful friend Fran, but I didn’t realise that I already owned a copy! 😦 I’m hoping to read this fairly soon.

7. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: In this mix of fiction and photography, sixteen-year-old Jacob travels to a remote island off the coast of Wales after a family tragedy and explores Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, where his grandfather stayed as a child. Jacob’s explorations soon have him realising that these children may not have just been peculiar, but actually rather dangerous. This too was a gift from Fran that has really intrigued me. I’m quite looking forward to reading this one!

8. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs: Yet another gift from Fran (she really spoils me, doesn’t she?!) and the sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

9. Fables, Volume 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham: This series deals with various characters from fairy tales and folklore known as The Fables. When “The Adversary” conquers their realm, they are forced to travel to our world and create their own secret and peaceful society, Fabletown. I bought this at a new (new to me as it opened while I was away in Hong Kong) comic book shop I stumbled upon quite near my house (in London terms). If I like this series, it will help in my quest to read more graphic novels.

10. The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg: I found this gem with both a £5 off and a signed by the author sticker on it in Waterstones’ Piccadilly branch (which I must go to more often; it’s incredible). This was on my BookTubeAThon TBR and you can find my mini-review in my BookTubeAThon wrap-up post here.

11. (K)* Ayoade on Ayoade by Richard Ayoade: <– How many times can you use the surname Ayoade in one sentence? Hehe. In this autobiography, Richard Ayoade attempts to scrutinise himself and his work by conducting ten interviews. With himself. This was on the Kindle Daily Deals last week, so I thought I’d get it. It’s not really the kind of thing I’m used to reading, so it will be nice to get out of my comfort zone. It’s likely I won’t read this anytime soon as I think it would be wise to familiarise myself with more of Ayoade’s work. I love The IT Crowd, but I’d really like to see some of his directorial work before reading what promises to be a hilarious take on an autobiography.

12. (K) Kensuke’s Kingdom by Michael Morpurgo: Michael is washed up on an island in the Pacific Ocean after falling from his parent’s yacht, the Peggy Sue and he struggles to survive on his own. But someone else is on the island, helping and watching over him. It turns out that Kensuke, an elderly Japanese man is also on the island and the two eventually bond and become friends. This too was a Kindle Daily Deal (as are 99.9% of my Kindle purchases). I remember borrowing this from my school library as a child and loving it, so it’s definitely time to own and re-read it.

13. (K) Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein: This is a first-person narrative military science fiction novel in which the human race and an arachnoid species known as “The Bugs” are locked in an interstellar war. This was another Daily Deal that looked like sci-fi fun.

14. (K) A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas: This is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast (which I haven’t read, but I have seen the Disney movie twice! :P) I’ve yet to read any of Maas’s work; I have Throne of Glass on my Kindle, so I’m not sure which to start with. (Suggestions welcome in the comments below!)

[(K)* – Kindle ]

So, 14 books! I’ll be posting my August Haul fairly soon seeing as August is so very nearly over!

2 thoughts on “Monthly Haul – July 2015

  1. So glad to see Kensuke’s Kingdom on the list. You really enjoyed reading it at school. So it’s time. Hm BBB. we’ll see. It reminded me about a book I read as a child – A House for Mr Biswas by V.S. Naipaul. Check it out.

    Happy reading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

