ReadAThons and Challenges

BookTubeAThon Wrap-up and Holiday TBR (Sat 8th Aug – Thurs 20th Aug)

As most of you are aware, I recently took part in BookTubeAThon for the first time. 😎 It started at midnight Monday 3rd August and ended at midnight on Sunday 9th August. There were seven challenges involved, but mainly, the aim of the marathon was to get you reading more. Here are my results:

Number of books started: 4

Number of books completed: 3

Number of pages read: 815

Number of challenges completed: 4

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name 
  3. Read someone else’s favourite book
  4. Read the last book you acquired 
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it 
  6. Read a book you really want to read
  7. Read seven books 

These are the books I read:

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness: Challenges 4 and 5 (please see my mini -review here)

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett: Challenge 1 (click the link above for my mini-review)

and

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg: 

Challenge covered:  6

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth

4 star rating grey

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth is a collection of loosely connected stories; retellings of well-known myths and myth like fables. These stories are told by a wandering storyteller who has embarked upon an adventure in an attempt to locate the missing part of his soul. I particularly loved the art in this comic; Greenberg’s use of colour really aids the storytelling. The font is incredible and I’m particularly jealous that the font is based on Greenberg’s actual handwriting… One thing I would say is that the comic started out really strongly, giving the sense that the stories would be interconnected to some aim but in the end, most of the stories were just that, stories. But, for Greenberg’s first comic, this is a truly charming work that I highly recommend. 4/5

I also started reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chobsky, but I still have about 50 pages to go. It would have fulfilled Challenge 2, except I didn’t read a thing on Sunday as I was too busy preparing for/fretting over a Skype interview that was scheduled for Monday morning.

My overall view on my performance is mixed. On the one hand, I really wanted to read more than I did. Plus, I’m a bit sad that I didn’t get to read A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley which is one of Fran’s favourite books. 😳 However, I should be proud of the fact that I got 3 books read in one week and started another. That is definitely A LOT more than I would normally read in a week. Thus, the BookTubeAThon has been a fantastic experience and I can’t wait to participate again next year! 😀

Holiday TBR

As I’m house and cat-sitting for some dear friends in France, I now have plenty of time to read! Here’s my TBR:

The Perks of Being a Wallflower coverThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (currently on page 180 of 232)

A Traveller in Time cover

A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley

The Lies of Locke Lamora cover

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

The Pillars of the Earth cover

The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

And if I somehow finish those, then I also have the following comic books and a novella to choose from, plus all the books on my Kindle (not to mention access to my friends’ books)!

Fables vol 1 legends of exile Fables Vol. 1: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham

The Walking Dead Vol. 3 - Safety Behind Bars coverThe Walking Dead Vol. 3: Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman

The Walking Dead vol 4 the heart's desire coverThe Walking Dead Vol 4: The Heart’s Desire by Robert Kirkman

The Little Prince coverThe Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (This will be a re-read – it’s my favourite book and it’s been a while!)

Thus, I have a lot to keep me occupied for the next week or so! Though if I start playing Fire Emblem: Awakening, I probably won’t get all that much reading done! Let’s hope I enough self-control to find a happy medium. XD

Á bientot!

SSJ Time Lord

One thought on “BookTubeAThon Wrap-up and Holiday TBR (Sat 8th Aug – Thurs 20th Aug)

Leave a Reply

