ReadAThons and Challenges

A Quick Mid-BookTubeAThon update

We are officially at the halfway point of the BookTubeAThon! 😀 It’s been difficult, but this is where I’m up to so far in terms of challenges:

  1. Read a book with blue on the cover
  2. Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name 
  3. Read someone else’s favourite book
  4. Read the last book you acquired 
  5. Finish a book without letting go of it 
  6. Read a book you really want to read
  7. Read seven books 

I’m a quite a bit behind, but I will try my best to catch up and complete all of the challenges. This is what I’ve read so far and the challenges that they have covered:

Day 1

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness:

Challenge(s) covered: 4, 5

A Monster Calls cover4 star f

This is a low fantasy novel about a thirteen year old boy named Conor who is struggling to comes to terms with his mother’s terminal illness. Conor has been having a recurring nightmare and one night, he wakes to find a monster. Conor is rather unimpressed; this is not the monster from his nightmare. But this monster wants something from Conor – the truth.

While I was glad I finished this book without letting go, I never actually wanted to put it down. It was truly a compelling read that made me well up at the end (for those of you who know me well, you know that rarely happens to me). Siobhan Dowd came up with the idea for this story – as Patrick Ness puts it in the author’s note “the characters, a premise, and a beginning” –  while she was terminally ill and asked Patrick Ness to turn it into a story. Jim Kay’s illustrations are incredible and Ness does a superb job of making Dowd’s idea a reality. I feel really bad for not giving this book five star, I really do, but its only downfall is the lack of characterisation; had there been just a bit more background into the characters, including Conor, then this would have received a five star rating. 4.5/5.

Day 1-4

The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett:

Challenge(s) covered: 1

The Colour of Magic cover3 star fThis book follows Rincewind, probably the most incompetent wizard ever. In trying to stay out of trouble, he seems to find it everywhere he turns. He ends up looking after the Discworld’s first ever tourist, Twoflower, encountering trolls, dragons and much more along the way.

This is Pratchett’s first novel and I’ve been meaning to read Pratchett’s work for a while now. Where better to start than at the very beginning (the Sound of Music just popped into my head…) It took me a while to get through this book, not because I wasn’t enjoying it but because it’s just not one of those books I can destroy quickly. I think that had there been more coherence to the story, I would have enjoyed this more, but it was a delightful introduction into the Discworld series (and oh so quotable)! 3.5/5.

Books read: 2

Challenges completed: 3

Pages read: 502

The Perks of Being a Wallflower coverThe Encyclopedia of Early Earth

I plan on reading either The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky or The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabelle Greenberg next (despite it not being on my initial TBR). I forgot I was going to France before the end of BookTubeAThon and I really want to read it – plus that will be another challenge out of the way. 🙂

SSJTimeLord

4 thoughts on “A Quick Mid-BookTubeAThon update

Leave a Reply

