ReadAThons and Challenges

My BookTubeAThon TBR! Aug 3rd – 9th!

The BookTubeAThon is starting tomorrow! For those of you currently thinking, “BookTubeAWhat…?!?!”, BookTubeAThon is a week long readathon (Aug 3rd – 9th) where you try to read as much as possible with fun challenges to complete along the way.

Check out this video and also this video for more information!

I’ve wanted to participate in a readathon for a very long time and this will be my FIRST ever! XD I’ll be starting with a tough one, but I’m very excited! I have been working hard to figure out which books I would like to read and how I can complete the challenges so I shall share with you my thoughts:

Challenge 1: Read a book with blue on the cover 

This challenge is easy peasy lemon squeezy. You can read any book with even a dot of blue on the cover for it to count towards this challenge. I own so many books that fit this category. I was thinking about perhaps using this challenge to re-read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling (I think there is some blue on the cover, but if you disagree, do let me know!), or to read The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris  or even The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon which sounds like it will be an interesting read. However, it’s a long read at 480 pages, so this will most likely take up an entire day, if not more if I do other things like eat. Due to the length, I think I will leave this book and go for The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. There is a tiny smidgen of blue on the cover of my library copy.The Colour of Magic cover

Challenge One Book Choice = The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett (288 pages)

The Gospel of Loki cover

Back-up = The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris (320 pages)

Challenge 2: Read a book by an author who shares the same first letter of your last name 

My surname starts with the letter C, so this challenge is also easier in terms of the letter C being commonly found at the beginning of surnames. For this, I found it harder to whittle down the choices with authors such as Trudy Canavan, Gail Carriger, Agatha Christie and so many more. I also found The Stranger by Albert Camus in my bookshelf (possibly one of many books that my mother popped into my bookshelf while I was away). It’s nice and short, so it’s a good contender. But, I’ve had a Christmas present on my TBR for too long now, so for Challenge 2, I plan on reading:

Ready Player One cover

Challenge Two Book Choice = Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (386 pages)

The Stranger cover

Back-up = The Stranger by Albert Camus (123 pages)

Challenge 3: Read someone else’s favourite book

I asked my mother what her favourite book is and she replied with “To Kill a Mockingbird” which I thought I’d already read, but I’m pretty sure I haven’t and that I’ve just seen the film several times (it’s also one of my mother’s favourite films…). Therefore, I do want to read it especially as my friend, Kerry lent me her copy of “Go Set a Watchman” which I would like to read after. But for this challenge, I’ve decided to read one of Fran’s favourite books instead… and she has come to London to lend me her copy! And just generally hang out in bookshops and Forbidden Planet, of course… Fran is super enthusiastic about this book and so I just have to read it to see what all the fuss is about 😛

A Traveller in Time cover

Challenge Three Book Choice = A Traveller in Time by Alison Uttley (286 pages)

To Kill a Mockingbird cover

Back-up = To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (385 pages)

Challenge 4: Read the last book you acquired 

I’m constantly acquiring books which is really bad for my bank account but it makes me happy. But I’ve realised that there comes a time when there is no money in said bank account and buying books stops me from eating. But that’s OK. I’m feeding my mind…. I might complete this challenge first, just so I can start acquiring books that I might not necessarily want to read straight away! The last book I acquired is currently:

A Monster Calls cover

Challenge Four Book Choice = A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (215 pages)

Back-up = Whatever I acquire in the meantime…

Challenge 5: Finish a book without letting go of it 

This challenge was the trickiest to find a book for. Short stories and novellas would be great for this one, but my slight OCD-like tendencies means I can’t count a “book” as read unless I’ve read every page, meaning the short story would have to make up one book on its own OR I read all of the short stories in one book to count as one book. It’s silly and irrational, but it’s one of my many neuroses. Thus, I think that if A Monster Calls is still the last book I have acquired at this point, I might attempt to use this for two challenges. It’s a super pretty edition with illustrations (yay, pictures!). If not, then a comic would do nicely for this challenge. My back-up would be one of The Walking Dead comics. I’m reading the trade paperbacks at the moment, so the volume I’ll be reading depends on where I’m up to on Aug 3.

Challenge Five Book Choice = A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (215 pages) 

The Walking Dead Vol. 3 - Safety Behind Bars cover

Back-up = The Walking Dead Vol. 3: Safety Behind Bars by Robert Kirkman & Tony Moore (~136 pages)

Challenge 6: Read a book you really want to read

TOO MANY CHOICES. This challenge really stumped me because there are far too many books that I want to read. Usually when I read something, it’s because I REALLY WANT TO READ IT. I could technically combine this challenge with one of the other books I’ll be reading for the BookTubeAThon, but I would like to read as many books as possible, so I’ve decided to pick out a separate book for this challenge. The contenders were whittled down and left three finalists: Room by Emma Donoghue,  Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen and The Princess Bride by William Goldman. In the end, I picked Room as it is on my Kindle and I really need to get used to reading from it again. I haven’t picked up my Kindle since coming back from Hong Kong (because physical copies make me :D) but I have so many books to read on there and its portability is super useful. This will probably be the book I will read while travelling to France (bus, then coach, then wait at airport though I am the person who is running in airports because “last-minute” is my middle name, then 1 hour plane journey).

Room cover

Challenge Six Book Choice = Room by Emma Donoghue (K)* (352 pages)

Northanger Abbey book cover

Back-up = Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (236 pages)

Challenge 7: Read seven books

And thus, I have to read at least two other books to meet this challenge. There are so many to choose from plus all of the books listed above that I don’t use for my other challenges. Here are some of the books I’d like to read:

Lord of the Flies cover The Great Gatsby coverThe Perks of Being a Wallflower cover

  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • The Great Gatsby (K)* by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

So, there you have it. I’m super excited to see how much I can get read in seven days. It’d be nice to fulfil all of the challenges too, but that’s secondary.

If you are participating in the BookTubeAThon, leave a comment with a link to your TBR! I’ll be excited to see what everyone is reading.

SSJTimeLord

*(K) = Kindle book.

7 thoughts on “My BookTubeAThon TBR! Aug 3rd – 9th!

  1. Good luck with the Readathon Chloe. I am super confident you will achieve your goal(s). Glad your Momma made the list not once but twice and, post the Readathon, I will be recommending more of my favourite books.
    Good luck.

    Like

      1. Awesome! I’m more than halfway through my first and haven’t let go yet! Here’s to the second half going as well as the first!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

