Reading: General

My Scotland trip – reading progress

2015-07-03 20.07.10

Look at that beautiful Inverness sky. This was taken around 8.15pm.

DISCLAIMER: This blog post will be interspersed with random photos of Scottish places.

I’m now back from my epic trip around Scotland. I had such an amazing time, but unfortunately was unable to make it to Glasgow or Edinburgh (due to lack of funds). This in turn meant that I didn’t have as many journeys as I thought I would to get reading done.

I was introduced to the brilliance of Fire Emblem: Awakening by Fran while in Skye. It is an amazing game and I’m now having severe withdrawal symptoms from not having played for 4 days. :/

Plus, I experienced some motion sickness on the bumpy roads between Portree and Kyle and I got talking to a lovely lady on the train from Kyle to Inverness, so no reading was done on that route.

2015-07-06 13.22.47

Wonderful Skye, how I miss thee.

Nevertheless, I managed to get two books out of the way and started on a third. I’ll give you a little insight into my thoughts on these books and go into more depth in my monthly wrap-up post at the end of July.

1. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

Admittedly, I was halfway through this book at the beginning of my journey but I finished it and I LOVED it. Definitely one of my favourite reads.

2. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

This book was a little slow to start with; it spent a lot of time describing the setting and the thoughts of the protagonist. However, once the plot kicked in, it was an incredible read which I thoroughly recommend.

3. Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke

I’ve only read about a fifth of this book, but I’m enjoying the story. Clarke’s writing style isn’t really my cup of tea, but I am intrigued to see where this story will go. It’s rather suspenseful and some of the literary devices Clarke deploys are utilised very cleverly indeed. I’ll probably finish this by the end of tomorrow.

2015-07-06 15.22.36

O overnight parking, how I adore thee! Wherefore art thou not?
(Fran and I have an excellent sense of humour.)

Unread books left in holiday TBR

4. The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris

My friend Grace and I might read this together so I won’t be reading this for the time being.

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I hope to read this book next once I’ve finished with Rendezvous with Rama. Fran, who recommended this book to me, is currently reading the second book in this trilogy – you should check out her blog too! Just click on her name.

6. Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling

As I said in my previous post, I will explain the lack of Harry Potter in my life fully in a separate blog post; however, while staying with my friend and Harry Potter fan, Ali this weekend, we came to the realisation that I should probably re-read The Philosopher’s Stone first as I… may have forgotten what the Philosopher’s Stone actually is… (PLEASE DON’T HATE ME!) so I may leave this book for a while too and get some of the other books on my TBR shelf read.

2015-07-10 17.37.52

My rather awful photography skills come to light with this picture of West Sands in St Andrews (sowwi!)

Alrighty then, that’s all from me for now, though I would like to do a bookshop review fairly soon, so look out for that.

Geeky love!

SSJTimeLord

P.S: I don’t want to sound desperate, but please do follow my blog to get my updates. If you don’t have a WordPress account – you can subscribe using your email address 🙂

Leave a Reply

