Reading: General

What’s this all about then?

I love books. I do. I buy them constantly. In bookstores, charity shops, at car boot sales; anywhere they are sold, I WILL find them and purchase to my heart’s content.

However, I have a confession to make. A lot of the time, I do not read said books. That’s right; I will seek books; books that friends have recommended, books that have awesome cover art, books that sound amazing, but I never seem to have the time to get through them.

Which is silly. I have now come to realise that it is utterly nonsensical for the following reasons:

1. I love reading.

It’s true. I absolutely adore it. I always have and always will.

2. Books cost money, but it is money that is well worth it – if you actually read the books.

I have probably spent most of my disposable income on books over anything else. Thus, logic would dictate that I should perhaps use the things that my money has gone toward…

3. I have time. I just seem to think that spending it otherwise is more useful.

Which is stupid. I spend more time daydreaming about reading books than actually reading them!

Therefore, having concluded that I am insane, I have created this blog in order to get my books read. It’s as simple as that. I have dozens of books in my bookshelves that I have not started, plus a Kindle full of books and a Goodreads challenge that I may never complete unless I get my brain in gear.

Having said all of this, I wasn’t always this way. I noticed a change when I went to university, way back in 2009. I adopted the attitude that ANYTHING that wasn’t studying was bad, including reading for leisure. This attitude had 4 years to turn into a habit – no, more than a habit – a doctrine that reading was taking away time from something more important. I did still read for leisure, but nowhere near as much as I used to, or wanted to. Before, I’d easily read an interesting book in one sitting, but I was now setting myself targets of getting to the end of a chapter.

Luckily, I do still read. I just want to read more.

Another note – I am an awful blogger. I started a blog last year when I moved to Hong Kong and I didn’t get any further than about 5 posts detailing my life there up until Christmas (I left Hong Kong at the beginning of June…) so I seriously need your help to keep this going. I don’t mind if I have one reader – at the end of the day, if this blog succeeds in getting me reading more, then I’ve already achieved my goal.

Peace.

SSJTimeLord

One thought on “What’s this all about then?

  1. I love this blog. I am sooo inspired to start reading more. Ah much more. Your love of books/reading you got from your Momma. For sure. Just saying. Look forward to reading yes reading your blog and seeing how you get on. Happy reading

    Like

Leave a Reply

