TBR

My TBR pile: Scotland trip (July 3rd – July 12th)

[This post will require some edits once I consult a more seasoned user of WordPress on how to use WordPress]

{TWO POSTS IN ONE DAY – my, my! We ARE enthusiastic about this blog, aren’t we? (Please take note of the use of the royal “we” not once, but twice in one sentence. [Thanks, Stevie Sutton])} <- so many brackets.

ACTUAL BEGINNING OF BLOG POST.

(You finally made it. Give yourself a cookie or something.)

I am currently preparing for an epic trip to Scotland which I am super excited about. I’ll be away for 10 days and there will be a lot of travelling involved, thus a lot of time for reading!

I’ll be spending most of my time in Scotland on the Isle of Skye. I’ll be staying with my wonderful friend, Fran and her family. Then I’ll be off to Glasgow, St Andrews, Dundee and Perth before heading home (with a possible quick trip to Edinburgh somewhere in between). Phew!

The books I’m taking are:

2015-07-02 21.45.25

1. Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman

I’m actually halfway through this book. I utterly adore it. I’ve never read anything by either author before, despite meaning to for SEVERAL years. I know a lot about their work; enough to even fool myself into thinking I have read some of their books. I’m sure I can finish it in the first quarter of my train journey to Inverness.

2. The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine

This book was recommended by a member of staff at my favourite Waterstones branch (Gower Street). It sounds incredible and I’m really looking forward to reading it. I believe it was pitched to me as “a cross between Sherlock Holmes and The Secret Seven”. SO, BASICALLY MY CHILDHOOD THEN?

3. Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke

I’m a sucker for science fiction and I started reading this about 6 months ago. I’d really enjoyed the suspense Clarke created on the pages I’d read, so I’m happy to be going back to it now.

4. The Gospel of Loki by Joanne M. Harris

LOKI. Need I say more?

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

This was a recommendation from my fellow book-loving-but-actual-reader-of-books friend, Fran. She recommended this book a very long time ago. I bought this book a very long time ago. It has been sat on my bookshelf for a very long ti… I think you get the picture. Again, I’m a sucker for sci-fi, so i’m quite interested to see where this story goes. It’s the first of a trilogy, so I’ve promised myself that if I get through all of my books on my trip, then I can reward myself with the next instalment. 😀

6. Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling

For those of you who know me quite well, the following is old news, which I assume doesn’t make it any less devastating for you; I have not read all of the Harry Potter books. In fact, until about 1.5 years ago, I had not read any of the books fully (I have now read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, so please don’t vilify me too much). Before you organise a mob complete with pitchforks to burn my house down, I promise* that I will explain the lack of Harry Potter in my life fully in a separate blog post; perhaps once I’ve read the second instalment.

So, that’s a total of six books that I hope to finish on my trip. There will be many buses and trains as I journey from London to Inverness to Kyle of Lochalsh to Skye to Glasgow to St Andrews to Dundee to Perth to London again. Thus, I’m hoping to get all of these books read. Also, I think most of them are relatively short reads, so I’m confident I can do it.

I also have a lot of unfinished books on my Kindle that I’m keen to get finished, for instance, The Well of Ascension by the insanely talented Brandon Sanderson. That is quite a long book, but it would be nice to have read another chunk of it before getting home.

Alright, that’s enough from me. I’d better get packing for my epic journey! Wish me luck with the reading!

Geeky love =)

*Remember in my previous post where I said I was an awful blogger? Please remind me to write up this explanation if I forget. KTHXBAI.

One thought on “My TBR pile: Scotland trip (July 3rd – July 12th)

  1. 😀 I came so close to packing The Gospel of Loki, too! I figured I probably had enough books to be getting on with, though… Plus, the downside of going by car is that I’ll get carsick if I read on the way… 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

